Source: Warhammer Fantasy: 7th Edition

Selecting Spells
URL Copied!

Wizards usually know only one magical lore.

The Warhammer Army books describe exactly which kinds of lore are used by the different Warhammer races and provide further race specific spells in most cases. Those given here are used primarily by the Wizards of the Empire and by Elves, but form the basis for the magic of other races too.

Wizards normally have one spell for each magic level. Wizards of the first level have one spell, Wizards of the second level have two spells, third level Wizards have three spells and Wizards of the fourth level have four spells.

The standard procedure for selecting spells is for each player to randomly generate spells for each of his Wizards before both sides deploy their troops.

Players must declare which Lore of Magic each of their Wizards is using before generating any spells.

If both sides are using Wizards, roll a dice to see who generates his spells first. Start generating spells for the Wizard with the highest level first. If two Wizards in the same army are using the same Lore of Magic, they may gain duplicates of spells, but no single Wizard can have the same spell twice.

Two Wizards on opposing sides may use the same spell lists, thus both sides may have the same spells.

The spells in the lists are numbered from one to six. To randomly generate spells for a Wizard, roll a D6 per level of the Wizard and consult the chosen Lore of Magic (these are found on the following pages of this section). If you roll the same spell twice for the same Wizard, roll again until you obtain a different result. This is normally done openly and players will. therefore be aware of which spells their opponent has generated. A Wizard can always substitute one of his spells with the first spell that is on the list. For example, a Wizard of the second level who chooses to use Fire magic and rolls a 4 and a 5 (getting Fiery Blast and the Conflagration of Doom spell) could substitute either of these spells with the Fireball spell.

Previous - The Eight Lores

Next - Lore of Fire