Normally, pursuers move the distance indicated by their dice roll and thereafter revert to the normal rules. So, in their following turn they may charge or move normally like any other unit.
It sometimes happens that pursuers move so far that they hit a fresh enemy unit. The pursuers are carried forward against the enemy unit as they chase their fleeing enemy. This is treated as if it were a new charge. If the fresh enemy causes Fear or Terror (see the Psychology section), the pursuers do not have to take a test to charge them - they are inspired by their victory and ready to fight any enemy, no matter how scary!
The unexpectedly attacked unit can only respond to the charge by holding or fleeing: any attempt to stand & shoot amidst the confusion of running bodies is deemed impossible. The charged unit must still make any necessary Psychology tests as normal (see the Psychology section).
If the newly charged unit flees, resolve their flee move before moving the pursuers, and if the pursuers catch them, the fleeing unit is immediately destroyed. The charger then completes its entire pursuit move in the direction of the new target.
If the unit flees out of reach of the pursuers, simply move the pursuers the full pursuit distance towards the new target.
If the fresh enemy holds its ground, and since pursuit into fresh enemy is treated as a new charge, the pursuers must endeavor to bring as many models into combat as possible. This means that it is normally necessary to wheel in order to maximise the number of combatants.
If the unit that has been charged as a result of pursuit was engaged in combat with other enemy units from the beginning of that combat phase and its fight has not been resolved yet, the combat must be worked out immediately, and the pursuers get to fight another round of combat. The pursuers are charging and so get all the usual benefits and bonuses, except that if their side was to break or destroy the enemy again, they cannot pursue anymore, even if they normally are forced to because of Hatred/Frenzy, etc, (see the Psychology section). They are completely spent!
If the unit that has been charged as a result of pursuit was not engaged in combat with other enemy units from the beginning of this combat phase, or if it was engaged but that fight has already been resolved in this combat phase and nobody has broken from combat), the combat is not resolved in this combat phase, but in the next (see Diagrams 45.1 and 45.2).
In the following combat phase the pursuers will still count as charging.
This may result in both sides having charging units in the same fight, in which case the charging units on both side will get the normal bonuses for charging and will strike before units that have not charged. If charging models are fighting other models that count as charging, solve their attacks in Initiative order (roll off if same Initiative).