URL Copied!

Some monsters are so huge and threatening that they are even more scary than those causing Fear. Such creatures cause Terror.

Troops who are confronted by monsters or situations that cause Terror must test to see whether they overcome their terror. If they fail, they are completely terrified and reduced to gibbering wrecks. Troops only ever test for Terror once in a battle and then they are not affected again, even if the test is failed.

If a creature causes Terror, it automatically causes Fear as well, and all the rules described for Fear apply. However, you never have to take a Terror test and a Fear test from the same enemy or situation just take a Terror test. If you pass the Terror test, you automatically pass the Fear test too. As any unit of troops only ever takes one Terror test in a battle, any subsequent encounters with terrifying monsters or situations will simply count as Fear.

A unit must take a Terror test if it is faced by one of the following situations:

  1. If charged by a Terror-causing enemy.

  2. If a unit wishes to charge a Terror-causing enemy.

  3. If there is an enemy that causes Terror within 6" at the start of the unit's turn.

Charged by Terror-causing Enemies

If a Terror-causing enemy unit declares a charge against it, a unit must take a test to see if can overcome the terror and take the charge. First declare the unit's intended charge reaction, then test as soon as the Terror-causing unit is determined to be within charge range.

If more than one Terror-causing unit is declaring charges against it, the unit takes a Terror test against the first unit that declared the charge and, if the test is passed, then treats the rest as Fear tests instead.

Wishing to Declare a Charge Against a Terror-causing Enemy

If a unit wishes to declare a charge against an enemy that causes Terror, it must take a test to overcome its terror first. If the unit is unfortunate and the test is failed, it may not charge and must flee in the compulsory movement part of its movement phase.

If the test is passed, the unit may declare the charge as normal.

Terror-causing Enemies Within 6" at the Start of the Turn

A unit must test at the start of its turn if there are one or more Terror-causing units within 6". If the test is failed, the unit will immediately flee directly away from the nearest Terror-causing creature.

Previous - Defeated by Fear-causing Enemy

Next - Fear & Terror Immunity